Beef Scholarship Extravaganza

The Iowa Cattlemen’s Foundation is proud to host the Beef Scholarship Extravaganza. It is one of the most challenging and rewarding youth cattle competitions in the nation. Young people who participate in this event reap the benefits of their preparation long after the competition is over. Registration is due Nov. 1.

The contest is open to high school juniors and seniors who test their knowledge on beef industry and beef cattle management issues. Stations cover the following beef industry topics:

  • Credit and Finance
  • Seedstock Merchandising
  • Nutrition
  • Reproduction
  • Industry Issues and Advocacy
  • Marketing
  • Beef Management
  • Health
  • Job Interview
  • Keep-Cull Heifer Replacement Evaluation

The top four teams receive college scholarships at the conclusion of the event.

Each of the following institutions will award additional matching scholarship funds to the top placing individuals, upon enrollment and classwork at their institution: Iowa State University College of Agriculture, Kirkwood Community College, Iowa Lakes Community College, Muscatine Community College, Des Moines Area Community College and Hawkeye Community College.

The Beef Scholarship Extravaganza is the premier youth cattle contest in the Midwest. Its success is attributed to the endless support of volunteers and generous financial support of our loyal industry sponsors.

Land O’Lakes Purina Feeds · Farm Credit Services of America · Iowa Beef Breeds Council · Iowa Cattlemen's Foundation 

Northeast Iowans top 2012 Extravaganza competition

A pair of high school seniors from Northeast Iowa took home the top prize at the Beef Scholarship Extravaganza hosted by the Iowa Cattlemen’s Foundation on Dec. 14, 2012. N2012 Extravaganza Winnersatalie Hanson, La Porte City, and Dustin Smith, Decorah, will each receive a $1500 scholarship for topping the 24 teams that competed at the event that was held at Iowa State University in Ames.

The scholarship event, which is for students interested in cattle and beef production, involved 63 high school students from around Iowa. They competed for cash scholarship awards for the top four teams that totaled $7,650. Students were challenged at 10 different stations to demonstrate their skills and knowledge.

The second place team was from Denison. The FFA team of Josi McMinemee, Denison, and Taylor Clinton, Schleswig, each earned $1,125 in scholarships. Third place went to the St. Ansgar FFA team of Ben Weis, Matt Levan, and Olivia Bisbee, all of St. Ansgar. They each received $500 scholarships. The fourth place team was Tyler Sellner, Earlville, and Jenna Beitz, Hopkinton. They represented Maquoketa Valley FFA, and each won a $450 scholarship.